Kicked off my flight for sleeping with my eyes open

PBair female flight attendant at work on board...

Out of control?

Every time I began to feel some sympathy for either the airlines or their employees, I read another article like this about someone pulling a bone-head, dumb ass stunt. There is no way for a customer to inoculate themselves. We’re all angry because they believe they can treat us with contempt and we’ll put up with in. I hope this guy sues them. I won’t fly US Air. This isn’t the first horror story I’ve heard about them.

This is one of the most bizarre cases I’ve ever come across. Gregory Machon says he was kicked off his flight because he was sleeping. With his eyes open.

His condition, called nocturnal lagophthalmos, may affect somewhere between 4 and 20 percent of the population, so you would imagine the US Airways flight attendants who made the call to remove him from the flight had seen something like this before. Apparently not.

Here’s what happened to Machon: As he explains it, he was on a flight from Baltimore to Frankfurt last May. After boarding, he pressed the flight attendant call button because he wanted to see if he could move to a different seat. No one came, and as the plane taxied down the runway, he dozed off.

Except, his eyes were open.

via Kicked off my flight for sleeping with my eyes open.

Comments are closed.